Victor Sreeram (Chair of the Board)

The University of Western Australia

Victor Sreeram (Director)

Victor Sreeram is currently a Professor and Head of Department in the Department of Electrical, Electronic, and Computer Engineering, University of Western Australia.

He obtained Bachelor's degree in 1981 from Bangalore University, Master's degree in 1983 from Madras University, India, and PhD degree from University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada in 1990, all in Electrical Engineering. He worked as a project engineer in Indian Space Research Organisation from 1983 to 1985.

He has successfully supervised over 25 PhD students. He is currently an associated editor of IET Control Theory and Applications and Asian Journal of Control.

He was the General Chair of 3rd Australian Control Conference, Perth, November 4-5, 2013 and the Vice Chair of Australasian Universities Power Engineering Conference, Perth, WA, September 28-1 October 2014. He was the Chair of National Committee on Automation, Control, and Instrumentation (Engineers Australia Technical Committee) during 2019-2020. He was the IFAC NMO representative for Australia during 2019-2021. He is currently the Vice President (for Technical Activity) of Asian Control Association.

Ian R. Petersen (Director)

The Australian National University

Ian R. Petersen (Secretary)

Ian R. Petersen was born in Victoria, Australia. He received a Ph.D in Electrical Engineering in 1984 from the University of Rochester. From 1983 to 1985 he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Australian National University. From 1985 until 2016 he was with UNSW Canberra where was a Scientia Professor and an Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow in the School of Engineering and Information Technology.

He has previously been ARC Executive Director for Mathematics Information and Communications, Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research for UNSW and an Australian Federation Fellow. From 2017 he has been a Professor in the School of Engineering at the Australian National University. From 2018 to 2019, he was the Interim Director of the Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering at the ANU.

He has served as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, Systems and Control Letters, Automatica, IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology and SIAM Journal on Control and Optimization.

Currently he is an Editor for Automatica. He is a fellow of IFAC, the IEEE and the Australian Academy of Science. His main research interests are in robust control theory, quantum control theory and stochastic control theory.

Iven Mareels(Director)

Federation University

Professor Iven Mareels

Lab Director
IBM Research Australia

Since Oct 2022, Iven Mareels is the Executive Dean, Institute for Innovation, Science and Sustainability, Federation University Australia. He is also a Director of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, and a non-executive Director of Rubicon Water.

Previously, he was a partner in IBM Consulting and Director of the Centre for Applied Research, IBM Australia (April 2021-Aug 2022); Director of IBM Research in Australia (Feb 2018- Mar 2021); Dean of Engineering at the University of Melbourne (2007-2018).

Iven received the PhD in Systems Engineering from the Australian National University (1987), and the Master of Engineering (Electromechanical) from Gent University (1982).

He has co-authored over 500 refereed publications, including 5 monographs. He is a co-inventor of a suite of patents related to the automation of large scale, gravity fed, irrigation systems.

Iven has received a number of awards, including a 2021 IBM Research Achievement Award (bronze level); 2017, Harold Chestnut Control Engineering Textbook Prize; 2014 IEEE Control Systems Society Technology Award; 2013 Asian Control Association Wook Hyun Kwon Education Award; 2008 Clunies Ross Medal.

He was made a Commander in the Order of the Crown of Belgium, and received the Centenary Medal of Australia for contributions to engineering education and research.

He is a Fellow of The Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Australia (; The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (USA) (, the International Federation of Automatic Control (, Engineers Australia ( and he is a Foreign Member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and the Arts (

Ljubo Vlacic (Director)

Griffith University

Ljubo Vlacic (Treasurer)

Currently, Professor Emeritus Ljubo Vlacic is President-Elect of the IEEE-Intelligent Transportation Systems Society, Distinguished Visiting Professor, the SouthEast University China and the Immediate Past Editor-in-Chief of the ITS Magazine (2017-2022).

He is with Griffith University's Institute of Intelligent & Integrated Systems and the School of Engineering and Built Environment. His career has encompassed senior management positions in Research & Development including

  1. Technical Director of Research Institute (industry);
  2. Project/Program Director (industry and academia); and,
  3. Head of School (academia);

and is built on his expertise in: (a) Industrial Plant Automation Research & Development, including commercial product prototype design and development; (b) Robotics and Mechatronics; (c) Co-operative Self-driving Vehicles Research & Development; (d) Intelligent Transport Systems and (e) University Research & Teaching.

His research achievements made news headlines, and were broadcast widely through various media outlets throughout the world.

In recognition of his achievements he has received 24 awards and distinctions including: the IEE Achievement Medal, Sir Lionel Hooke Award, the ITS World Congress Video Competition Award (Research Education), Queensland Professional Engineer of the Year Award, Engineers Australia -Queensland Project Excellence Award, JSPS Invitation Research Fellowship (Japan), DAAD Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (Germany) and Fulbright Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (USA).

Further details can be obtained from

Qing-Long Han (Director)

Swinburne University of Technology

Qing-Long Han (Director)

Professor Han is Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Quality) and a Distinguished Professor at Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne, Australia. He held various academic and management positions at Griffith University, Australia and Central Queensland University, Australia.

Professor Han was awarded The 2021 Norbert Wiener Award (the Highest Award in systems science and engineering, and cybernetics) and The 2021 M. A. Sargent Medal (the Highest Award of the Electrical College Board of Engineers Australia). He is a Highly Cited Researcher in both Engineering and Computer Science (Clarivate). He was one of Australia’s Top 5 Lifetime Achievers (Research Superstars) in Engineering and Computer Science (The Australian's Research Magazine, 2019-2020). He was the recipient of The IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society Andrew P. Sage Best Transactions Paper Award in 2022, 2020, and 2019, respectively, The IEEE/CAA Journal of Automatica Sinica Norbert Wiener Review Award in 2021, and The IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics Outstanding Paper Award in 2020.

Professor Han is a Foreign Member of the Academia Europaea (The Academy of Europe). He is a Fellow of The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (FIEEE), a Fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control (FIFAC), a Fellow of The Institution of Engineers Australia (FIEAust), and a Fellow of the Chinese Association of Automation (FCAA). Currently, he is the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE/CAA Journal of Automatica Sinica, the Co-Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics, and the Co-Editor of Australian Journal of Electrical & Electronics Engineering.

Other Links:
IEEE International federation of automatic control